Test pattern and duration

CAT Exam Pattern is unpredictable and it changes every year. Since last two years, the structure of the test has undergone a few changes. CAT is a computer-based test which consists of 100 objective type questions.

There are 3 sections in the test:

  • Verbal and Reading Comprehension (VARC)
  • Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning (DI & LR)
  • Quantitative Ability (QA)

The Quantitative Ability and Verbal & Reading Comprehension sections consisted 34 questions each, whereas the Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning section had 32 questions. This distribution of questions was same for CAT 2015 , CAT 2016 and CAT 2017. Before this, the distribution of questions was different. Followings are crucial points for CAT 2018:

  • A few questions in each section of CAT may be of non-MCQs type questions (TITA- Type In The Answer).
  • Exactly 60 minutes will be allotted for answering each section.
  • Each question carries 3 marks and there is negative marking of 1 mark for each wrong answer.
  • No negative marking for non-MCQ type questions.
  • A virtual calculator (on-screen calculator) will be available throughout for the purpose of calculation.

The test takers cannot switch between the sections and have to attend the test in a particular order. The order of the sections is same for all the applicants-

  • VARC
  • DI & LR, and
  • QA

Four scaled scores will be presented for each candidate: an overall scaled score and three separate scaled scores for each section. As the three sections evaluate distinct sets of knowledge and skills, scores do not correlate across sections. A high score in one section does not guarantee a high score in another section. Percentile rankings are provided for each individual section as well as for the overall exam score.